Friday, March 24, 2017

Book Blogger Hop No. 89: Handling Negative Blog Comments


Welcome to the Book Blogger Hop,
hosted by Billy @


For more information, and 
to find out the topic of next week's question, click HERE.


This Week's Question

How do you handle negative
comments left on your blog?

(Submitted  by Maria @ 



My Answer

This is something that never even entered my mind when I first started blogging. And for a long time afterward, I didn't consider the possibility, either. 

Thankfully, I haven't had that many negative comments on my posts, in six (going on seven now) years of blogging. To be quite honest, I think I've only had two or three in all this time.

My way of handling negative comments depends on how offensive and/or insulting they are. If they are mild criticisms, then I will leave them up, and even reply to them, as calmly and politely as I possibly can.

Not that long ago, I received a comment that was not terribly offensive, but the person did criticize one of my posts because of alleged spelling errors. Just for the heck of it, though, I carefully checked over the post in question, proofreading in detail as I went. Well, I didn't find any errors. Not a single one.

I have occasionally come across spelling and grammatical errors on other blogs. I would NEVER dream of pointing out such errors in a blog comment. I would send an email, and thus avoid embarrassing a blogger on their own blog.  I recall sending one such email once. Usually, I just ignore any errors I might come across. Nobody's perfect, after all.

This person happened to mention that they had noticed my "errors" because they were an editor. I then politely informed them that I'm an English teacher, so I'm very much aware of such things, which is why I proofread and tweak my posts endlessly, even after I publish them. Lol.

The situation is totally different if a negative blog comment contains profanity and/or insults. I will simply delete such comments, without any explanation to the person who left them. I definitely do NOT want my readers and visitors to see that type of thing on my blog. Absolutely not! It not only creates a very bad impression of the blog, but also makes readers and visitors feel uncomfortable.

For instance, someone once called me "a grammar Nazi" in a comment, simply because I stated in one of my posts that Indie books frequently have editing issues. I think this term is VERY offensive, so I deleted that particular comment.

Both of my blogs -- A Night's Dream of Books, and MindSpirit Book Journeys -- are free from profanity or anything having to do with pornography. I want them kept that way. Therefore, I will not tolerate any comments that contain any vulgar or lewd language. Nor will I tolerate any comments that are nothing more than personal attacks.

My intolerance for horribly negative comments extends to my readers and visitors. If one commenter criticizes another commenter in a very insulting manner -- which, of course, constitutes a personal attack --  I will not only delete the offensive comment, but also send an email to the offender explaining why I've deleted their comment, and asking them to refrain from such personal attacks in the future, or I will continue to delete their comments.

I do welcome opposing viewpoints, whether related to my or others' opinions, but only if such opposing viewpoints remain civil and cordial. One can certainly disagree with a comment, but it's not necessary to be vulgar, insensitive, or rude while doing so. 

In short, all readers and visitors are more than welcome to leave their honest opinions on my posts, as long as they do so politely and not in an aggressive, insulting manner.

Be warned! Trolls will swiftly be dealt with here! All other honest, kind, friendly commenters, WELCOME!!
 



What are your thoughts on
this topic?
Please leave a comment!
If you're participating in this meme,
I'll go comment on your 
own BBH post.
If not, I will then comment on one 
of your blog posts!
Thanks for visiting!!! 








Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Can't Wait Wednesday No. 9: Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, by Julie C. Dao




Welcome to "Can't Wait Wednesday"!
  
*Late Edition*
I had problems with this post when creating it last night. There was a Blogger glitch.
 
This is a weekly event hosted by
Tressa @ Wishful Endings, and inspired by "Waiting On Wednesday", which used to be hosted by
 Jill @ Breaking the Spine.

For more information, please click HERE.

As in the previous meme, this one showcases future releases  we book  bloggers 
are eagerly anticipating!!
There's also a Linky widget, so participating blogs can link up!



Here's my choice for this week!



 Forest of a Thousand Lanterns
(Rise of the Empress, Book 1))
Julie C. Dao
Hardcover,  384 pages
Philomel Books 
Octodark ber 10, 2017
Fairy Tale Retellings, Fantasy,  
Young Adult Fiction
  
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33958230-forest-of-a-thousand-lanterns?ac=1&from_search=true

  





The Wrath and the Dawn meets Snow White and the Huntsman in this dark and mystical East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl's quest to become Empress--and the darkness she must unleash to achieve her destiny.

Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her. Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng's majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high?

Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute.

Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty,
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns possesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy: dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance. Fans of Heartless, Stealing Snow, and Red Queen will devour this stunning debut.
 




Why I'm waiting on this one!

This synopsis has left me breathless with anticipation!! There are SO many things to love about this story! The combination of elements is AWESOME: fantasy, an Asian female protagonist, and dark fantasy she must overcome....And that cover is absolutely STUNNING!!!! I must ABSOLUTELY get this one as soon as it releases!!  







Julie C. Dao is a proud Vietnamese-American who was born in upstate New York. She studied medicine in college, but came to realize blood and needles were her Kryptonite. By day, she worked in science news and research; by night, she wrote books about heroines unafraid to fight for their dreams, which inspired her to follow her passion of becoming a published author. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns is her debut novel. Julie lives in New England. She is represented by Tamar Rydzinski of the Laura Dail Literary Agency.


Website/Goodreads 






What do you think of my choice?
Leave your link below, so I can
come check out your pick(s)!












Saturday, March 18, 2017

Shelf Candy Saturday No. 207: A Treasury of Irish Fairy and Folk Tales, by Various Authors



Welcome to Shelf Candy Saturday!



*St. Patrick's Day Edition*

This is my weekly feature
showcasing beautiful covers!
It also provides information, 
if available, on their 
very talented creators!


Here's my choice for this week!




A Treasury of Irish Fairy 
and Folk Tales
 (Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions)
Various Authors 
Leather Bound Hardcover, 704  pages
Barnes & Noble, Inc.
February 4, 2016
   Classics, Fairy Tales, Fantasy, Mythology 

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28461379-a-treasury-of-irish-fairy-and-folk-tales?from_search=true




My Thoughts About This Cover

Since I didn't post anything for St. Patrick's Day yesterday, and felt a little sad about that, I've decided to feature a beautiful cover related to Irish literature for  this week's "Shelf Candy Saturday".

Every discerning bookworm/bibliophile has surely seen these GORGEOUS literary creations at a Barnes & Noble bookstore. I certainly have! And, of course, my eyes feast on them, and my restless book-addicted soul yearns to own every single one! (Well, except for Dracula and the works of H.P. Lovecraft, AND the works of Edgar Allan Poe, and really, ANY horror novel or collection of novels.) I do happen to own a few of these books, but not this particular one -- yet! Lol.

The cover has definitely been influenced by one of the world's most beautiful design styles -- the Celtic. This particular style is full of swirling curves and intricate design motifs that twist and intertwine in very pleasing, geometric visual patterns.

This type of bookbinding, with intricate design work on leather, was very common in the 19th-century, but gradually disappeared toward the beginning of the 20th-century. Thankfully, Barnes & Noble has resurrected this lost art through their beautiful, mouth-watering collectible editions, each of which is a masterpiece of the bookbinder's noble art. (Pun intended? Definitely.)

I apologize for the somewhat blurry images above and below -- they were the best I could get. When I began participating in this meme, back when Stephanie @ Five Alarm Book Reviews hosted it, I decided that I would always include large images of the books I featured. So I've done so today, as well. I hope you can all admire some of the intricate details involved in this cover's remarkably stunning design.



This is the book's full cover. You can see 
that it has the type of all-over design 
style common in the 19th century.


As with Art Nouveau, Celtic design is plant-based; both styles contain intertwining leaves, flowers, and branches. Some of the designs are more abstract than others. Celtic design is distinctive because of its intricacy. There's a lot of knotting involved.

This type of design is perfect for a book containing a compilation of fairy tales, and Irish ones, too! I love that the designer has overlapped the frame around the title with part of the design, especially at the bottom of the frame. This breaks up any monotony created by the more classic-looking frame.

I also love the rich background color. It's a shade of green known as "dark Kelly green". This shade evokes images of untouched forests, rolling green meadows, and, of course, leprechauns!. It's also become a symbol of Ireland, and part of the traditions of St. Patrick's Day.

The font used for the title is one I've seen frequently on signs and T-shirts created for St. Patrick's Day. It's influenced by the calligraphy used in medieval illustrated manuscripts, and is very stylish and beautiful.

And now I have to sit here and wonder WHY the brilliant cover designer has not been credited....or perhaps they have, and I don't know who the person is because I don't own the book.... The designer's name might very well be on the book's copyright page. I have already checked out the book on Amazon, but there's no reader preview provided for it, so I can't take a look at the copyright page. 

This is yet another instance in which a cover designer or illustrator has not been properly credited for their work. Surely a bookseller as well known as Barne & Noble should do MUCH better! Oh, well....

Of course, I'm itching to order this treasure RIGHT NOW. Perhaps I will, too, just as soon as I finish this post.... Lol.

Here are some typical Celtic designs, which are free to download at pixabay.com. I love all the circles and intertwining, highly intricate patterns of this stunning design style!


   





Online Links


 

What do you think of this 
week's cover?
Please leave a comment
and let me know!