Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Can't Wait Wednesday No. 56: Lost for Words, by Stephanie Butland





Welcome to "Can't Wait Wednesday"!


This is a weekly event hosted by
Tressa @ Wishful Endings, and inspired by "Waiting On Wednesday", which used to be hosted by
 Jill @ Breaking the Spine.

For more information, please click HERE.

As in the previous meme, this one showcases future releases  we book  bloggers 
are eagerly anticipating!!
There's also a Linky widget, so participating blogs can link up!




Here's my choice for this week!



 Lost for Words
Stephanie Butland
Trade Paperback, 352 pages
Bonnier Books, Ltd.
     April 20, 2018      
Bibliophilia, Contemporary Fiction,
Romance,Women's Fiction 

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34320324-lost-for-words





About the Book

 The Lost for Words Bookshop is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending novel, perfect for fans of The Storied Life of AJ Fikry and The Little Paris Bookshop. 

 You can trust a book to keep your secret . . .

Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look closely, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are things she'll never show you.

Fifteen years ago Loveday lost all she knew and loved in one unspeakable night. Now, she finds refuge in the unique little York bookshop where she works.

Everything is about to change for Loveday. Someone knows about her past. Someone is trying to send her a message. And she can't hide any longer.

Lost for Words is a compelling, irresistible and heart-rending novel, with the emotional intensity of The Shock of the Fall and all the charm of The Little Paris Bookshop and 84 Charing Cross Road.
 



Why I can't wait for this one!

OMG.......A book about a BOOKSTORE?! And a BOOKWORM who prefers books to people?! Heck, that was ME during my teens!! Lol. OF COURSE I WANT TO READ THIS. And I'm SO happy that I won't have to wait that long, either! This is one of those adult novels that really sounds more like an "angstsy" YA read.  PLUS I want to see how the romance fits into the story..... 'Nuff said!! 



About the Author


Stephanie Butland is a writer, who is thriving after breast cancer. (She used to say she was a survivor, but that was a bit lacking in joie de vivre.)
Although she’d never have chosen it, her dance with cancer has changed her life in many positive ways. Now she is happier, healthier, and more careful with her precious life and the precious people and things in it.

Her writing career began with her dance with cancer, and now she is  a novelist.

Aside from writing, she works as a speaker and trainer, and she works with charities to help raise awareness and money in the hope that cancer will soon be about as scary as a wart.

She lives in Northumberland, in the northeastern part of England.


Website/Goodreads/Facebook
Twitter/Amazon Author Page







What do you think of my
choice this week? 
Please leave a comment and
let me know!


  

30 comments:

  1. I guess every bookworm has some sort of fantasy about owning a bookstore. Books like this seem to go to the heart of this. Based upon the description, it also sounds like there might be a tragic underpinning to this one however. Either way it sounds intriguing. I also love books about books.

    Have a great week Maria!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi, Brian!

      Oh, DEFINITELY!! I have seriously given thought to that myself, from time to time. I haven't done it, though, because I would need some capital to start such a business, and I'm sadly lacking in that department....lol. Besides, there are the mighty Barnes & Noble, plus Amazon, to compete with! And in Miami, there's also Books and Books, an independent bookstore that has become a chain, since they now have FIVE stores -- four of them in Miami, and one in Miami Beach!

      I sure hope the plot of this book isn't hiding a tragedy! There's an air of mystery about it, that's for sure!

      Of course, ALL of us bookworms LOVE books about books!! Lol.

      Hope you're having a great week! Thanks for commenting!! <3 :)

      Delete
  2. Looks good. Love that cover, looks nice and cozy, but when I read the description about her having a secret and someone trying to send her a message, it almost had an ominous tone to it! Curious about this one. I wanted to read Little Paris Bookshop too, but haven't gotten to it. There is something about books set in bookshops... :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi, Greg!

      Oh, I LOVE that cover, too!! It does indeed look cozy!

      Yeah, I know.....Brian mentioned this ominous tone, as well.... Gee, this book sounds SO delightful, I'm crossing my fingers that it won't turn out to be sad!

      I want to read "The Little Paris Bookshop" myself. I even own this book! "So many books, so little time...." Lol. And OF COURSE, there's something about books set in bookshops! Lol.

      Thanks for commenting!! <3 :)

      Delete
  3. Some days this is me right now LOL! Glorious pick, Maria! It looks like it's going to be such a wonderful read!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi, Verushka!

      Yeah, I have to admit I DO feel that way sometimes, even nowadays! Lol.

      Oh, I LOVE your use of the word "glorious"!! What a GRAND word that is!! And yes, I think this book will DEFINITELY be a wonderful read!

      Thanks for the nice comment!! <3 :)

      Delete
  4. I agree that this does sound good. We all love bookstores, right?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi, Kay!

      Yes, it DOES sound good!! And of course we bookworms love bookstores!! LOL.

      Thanks for commenting!! <3 :)

      Delete
  5. Replies
    1. Hi, Ronyell!

      Yes, it does, doesn't it? Glad you like it, too!

      Thanks for commenting!! <3 :)

      Delete
  6. Man, I gotta have this one. Someone who prefers books to people - perfect! Although I must add that I prefer my pups to books and people. However, they like to snuggle when I'm reading so it's a win-win. I don't know where you found this one but I'm so glad you shared it. Now I can't wait either!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi, Barb!

      Oh, YEAH!!!! And there are STILL days that I do prefer books to people! LOL. Especially when I get an ornery student or co-worker acting up on me at work! :)

      If only I had a horse....he (it would have to be a stallion) would give the books some competition!

      Awwww.....your pups love to snuggle when you're reading? How sweet!! :) :)

      I came across this one while browsing on Amazon. Heck, I'm ALWAYS browsing on Amazon! LOL. I'm glad that now you want this book, too!! :) :)

      Thanks for commenting!! HUGS TO YOU & THE BOYS, AND WOOF, WOOF, TO THEM!! <3 <3 <3 :) :) :)

      Delete
  7. Ha! I prefer books to most people too. :) This sounds really good and it is a great pick!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi, Jenea!

      Hahaha!! Yeah, some people can be SO obnoxious, they can make any of us cling to books all the more! :) :) :)

      I'm glad you love my pick! I'm sure it will be a GREAT read!!

      Thanks for commenting!! <3 :)

      Delete
  8. YES!!! A mystery about a bookstore HOOK ME UP!! =) This sounds really good. I love the cover. Good pick!

    Mary my Can't Wait Wednesday

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi, Mary!

      YAAAAY!!! Yeah, that's why I signed up myself! And I love the cover, too!!

      Thanks for commenting!! <3 :)

      Delete
  9. I hope you love this one Maria! I, for one, love when adult novels have a good amount of teen angst in them. :D Thanks for sharing. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi, Gennifer!

      Oh, I KNOW I will!! I ADORE books that feature bookstores!! Plus, yes, I also love books written for adults that seem to contain some teen angst!

      You're very welcome for the sharing! Thanks for commenting!! <3 :)

      Delete
  10. When I read "Loveday Cardew prefers books to people" I was just like okay so this book is about me? LOL XD

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi, Stephanie!

      LOL!!! That's what caught my eye, too!! Well, nowadays, I do have to deal with people, since I teach adults English as a Second Language. But there are days when I DO indeed prefer books to people!! LOL. XD

      Thanks for the funny comment!! HUGS!! <3 <3 <3 :) :) :)

      Delete
  11. Recommended bookshop novel: Words In Deep Blue by Cath Crowley. Wonderful book!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi, Sue!

      I do own this book, but need to read it! :)

      Thanks for commenting!! <3 :)

      Delete
  12. Oh I love this also-is it ok for me to want to own my bookstore that has printed books that everyone gives away? Love this-thank you!!
    https://justmeandmyblogreviews.blogspot.com/2018/03/win-it-wednesday_14.html

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi, Joann!

      Your idea of a bookstore sounds GREAT!! I want to have one of those, too!! LOL.

      Glad you loved my pick! Thanks for commenting!! <3 :)

      Delete
  13. This one looks like so much fun - it's bound to appeal to anyone who feels happy and secure in a bookshop - like a lot of us...:) Thank you so much for sharing this one with us, Maria!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi, Sarah!

      Oh, DEFINITELY!! I KNOW I'm going to enjoy it! I would LOVE to actually LIVE in a bookshop! LOL. Yeah, I'd have my room in the back, with a little kitchen (I'm not much of a cook, though, lol), plus a bathroom. What MORE could I possibly want out of life? LOL.

      You're very welcome for the sharing!! Thanks for the comment!! <3 <3 <3 :) :) :)

      Delete
  14. Oh! I love the cover for this one! Plus, I'm a sucker for anything to do with bookshops. Thanks for participating!

    Tressa @ Wishful Endings

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi, Tressa!

      Yeah, that cover looks SO nice and COZY, doesn't it? :) :)

      OF COURSE we bookworms LOVE anything to do with bookshops!! YAAAAAY!!!

      You're very welcome for my participation!! Thanks for commenting!! <3 <3 <3 :) :) :)

      Delete
  15. I would like to read this one too. I love stories about bookworms and book stores.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi, Tizzy!

      Of course! What bookworm in their right mind would NOT love such stories? Lol. I think we'd all prefer to actually LIVE in a bookstore! Lol!!

      Thanks for commenting!! <3 :)

      Delete

THIS IS NOW AN AWARD-FREE, AND TAG-FREE BLOG. Thanks for the compliment, though! : )

Thanks for your thoughts on my posts! I always reply here, as well as comment back on your blog. Have a WONDERFUL day!! :)