Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Waiting On Wednesday #51: The Lazarus Machine, by Paul Crilley






This is a weekly book meme, hosted by
which features future releases that
we book bloggers
are eagerly anticipating!


Here's my pick for this week!



(Tweed & Nightingale Adventures #1)
Hardcover, 280 pages
Prometheus Books
First Edition
Expected Publication:
November 6, 2012
Genres: Steampunk, Young Adult


From the Goodreads Synopsis

An alternate 1895... a world where Charles Babbage and Ada Lovelace perfected the Difference engine. Where steam and tesla-powered computers are everywhere. Where automatons powered by human souls venture out into the sprawling London streets. Where the Ministry, a secretive government agency, seeks to control everything in the name of the Queen.


It is in this claustrophobic, paranoid city that seventeen-year-old Sebastian Tweed and his conman father struggle to eke out a living.


When Tweed’s father is kidnapped by Professor Moriarty, he is forced to team up with information broker Octavia Nightingale to track him down. But he soon realizes that his father’s disappearance is just a tiny piece of a political conspiracy that could destroy the British Empire and plunge the world into a horrific war.




Although I'm curious about the
Steampunk genre,
I have yet to take the plunge,
and actually read one...
I might very well begin with this one!
It reminds me of the novels
of Charles Dickens,
with some Steampunk weirdness
thrown in!
What a combination!
Also, although not mentioned in the
book's synopsis,
the cover suggests there might
be some romance involved...
Oh, I'm definitely in!!





What do you think of my choice?
What wonderful books
are you all eagerly awaiting
this week?



     










18 comments:

  1. I really hope you like steampunk, it is one of my favorites. Can't wait for this one either!

    Nikki @ Books Most Wanted

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yes, this definitely sounds like it could be interesting. Thanks for sharing. :)

    My WoW,
    Kathy Ann

    ReplyDelete
  3. I also am curious about the Steampunk genre, but have not taken the plunge either. Great pick!

    Here's my WoW

    Thanks for sharing!

    ~Danica Page @Taking it One Page at a Time

    ReplyDelete
  4. This one sounds so good! I've read a few steampunk books and I'm excited to read more.
    new follower :)

    here's our WOW
    Janhvi @ The Readdicts

    ReplyDelete
  5. sign me up! I'm new to steampunk too but this one looks very promising. Happy reading :) If you have a few minutes I hope you'll drop by and check out my WOW for this week.

    ReplyDelete
  6. This one is new to me! Thanks for putting it on my radar. I've been really enjoying reading Steampunk lately, so this one looks like a must for me.

    My WOW

    ReplyDelete
  7. This really does look good. I have never read a steam punk book but I have some friends and relatives really into it.

    My only potential quibble is that it sounds like the author borrowed a character from the Sherlock Holmes stories. There is a lot of room for originality in writing, this seems unnecessary in a novel like this.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I sadly haven't read much of the steam punk genre either though I do plan to change that soon. The book looks interesting, and though not in my usual genre I'll give it a go most likely when it comes out. If you would like to check out my Waiting On Wednesday post you can do so here. :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Another book to add to my never-ending GR list! :D Thanks for sharing!

    WoW @thedailyprophecy.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Sounds like an exciting choice.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2012/10/waiting-on-wednesday-gilded-wings-angel.html

    ReplyDelete
  11. This looks really good! I love Steampunk myself so I hope you'll love this when it comes out. Thanks for sharing :)

    New GFC Follower!

    Here's my WoW post

    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows

    ReplyDelete
  12. Thanks for sharing this. I love a good steampunk. Adding it to my TBR list now! :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. I love the cover!! I didn't think it would be my cup of tea, but after reading what the book is about and I do enjoy steampunk, I definitely will give it a try. Thanks for sharing :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. Nikki, Kathy Ann, Danica:

    Hi, there, and thanks for dropping by and commenting!! I really have to get started with the Stemapunk genre -- I now own one or two books in this category, and want to read them. So many books...so little time...you know how that goes!

    I'll be sure to visit each of your WOWs. Thanks again for stopping by and leaving your thoughts!! : )

    ReplyDelete
  15. Hi, Janhvi!

    Yeah, I really have to get to this genre soon! It promises to be very exciting!

    I'll check out your WOW. Thank you so much for commenting and following!! : )

    ReplyDelete
  16. Hi, Jamie!

    I agree -- this one DOES look very promising!!

    I'll go check out your WOW. You're very welcome for the share, and thanks for commenting!! : )

    ReplyDelete
  17. Hey, Silverlight!

    Oh, I'm glad to have introduced you to a new book! I've heard a lot of good things about Steampunk.

    I'll be sure to check out your WOW, too.

    You're very welcome for the share, and thanks for commenting!! : )

    ReplyDelete
  18. Hey, Brian!

    I've heard some very positive reviews about Steampunk novels, and most of the covers are great!
    I was wondering about the Sherlock Holmes character, too. When I checked out this book on Goodreads, I saw an endorsement that mentioned it's for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Who. Well, who knows? It might still be really good! But I do agree with you -- an author shouldn't take characters from other novels. (Unless they're doing a 'modern' version of a classic, or perhaps a parody of it.)

    Thanks for commenting!! : )

    ReplyDelete

THIS IS NOW AN AWARD-FREE, AND TAG-FREE BLOG. Thanks for the compliment, though! : )

Thanks for your thoughts on my posts! I always reply here, as well as comment back on your blog. Have a WONDERFUL day!! :)